Storm from the East

I was super excited to receive an arc from TorTeen publishing and the Fantastic Flying Book Club in exchange for an honest review and to participate in the blog tour for Storm From the East. Below you’ll find my review, info about Storm from the East and where to buy it, a playlist you can listen to while reading SFTE, and links to the Fantastic Flying Book Club website and Instagram – be sure to check out my Instagram post for info about the giveaway!

Storm from the East – FIVE STARS (I would give this book six if I could)

Dark of the West was one of my favorite reads of 2019, so I was really excited for the sequel – and Storm from the East did not disappoint! This book really built well on the plotlines and character arcs set up in the first book, and I loved seeing the new places characters traveled to. With such complicated political machinations at play I thought Hathaway did a great job of introducing new settings and characters in a balanced way so it was exciting but still comprehensible; I wasn’t getting confused as to what was happening, even if as readers we were purposefully left with questions that haven’t been answered yet. As a whole – the worldbuilding in this series is awesome.

The stakes definitely got higher in Storm from the East, and it felt like my heart was racing through this whole book (protect Cyar, protect Leannya, protect Kalt, protect Trigg, protect them all!!!) My favorite part about this series is how complex all of the characters are. It’s not easy to love or hate any of them. They’re all put in impossible situations, forced to choose between family, duty, and love. The angst is amazing! But also rips my heart out?!

I think one of the greatest strengths of this book is the way it addresses war. As readers we get a chance to view the conflict from multiple perspectives and get a full sense of how complicated it is. Nothing done by either side is completely condemnable or justifiable.

Storm of the East carries on the great romance started in Dark of the West, but adds much more complicated plot points and builds up in intensity. I was so emotionally invested and entertained, and I was enraptured by the moral conflicts and questions this book raised. Although the book ends leaving me wanting more and dying to know what happens next, the ending resolves the arc of the second book well and I can’t wait to see what comes next in the series!

BOOK INFORMATION

Storm from the East (Glass Alliance #2) by Joanna Hathaway
Publisher: Tor Teen
Release Date: February 11th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Adventure, High Fantasy

Synopsis:

Battles, revolution, and romance collide in Joanna Hathaway’s stunning, World Wars-inspired sequel to Dark of the West

Part war drama, part romance, Storm from the East is the second novel in Joanna Hathaway’s immersive, upmarket YA fantasy series that will appeal to readers of Sabaa Tahir, Marie Rutkoski, and Evelyn Skye.

War has begun, and the days of Athan’s and Aurelia’s secret, summer romance feel a world away. Led by Athan’s father, the revolutionary Safire have launched a secret assault upon the last royal kingdom in the South, hoping to depose the king and seize a powerful foothold on the continent. Athan proves a star pilot among their ranks, struggling to justify the violence his family has unleashed as he fights his way to the capital—where, unbeknownst to him, Aurelia has lived since the war’s onset. Determined to save the kingdom Athan has been ordered to destroy, she partners with a local journalist to inflame anti-Safire sentiment, all while learning this conflict might be far darker and more complex than she ever imagined.

When the two reunite at last, Athan longing to shake the nightmare of combat and Aurelia reeling from the discovery of a long-buried family truth come to light, they’ll find the shadow of war stretches well beyond the battlefield. Each of them longs to rekindle the love they once shared . . . but each has a secret they’re desperate to hide.

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/45043929-storm-from-the-east

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2RoNSv0

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/storm-from-the-east-joanna-hathaway/1131253787;jsessionid=63C9017C6FE19F8CEB83D5887DAACC13.prodny_store02-atgap12?ean=9780765396464

Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/author/Joanna-Hathaway

iTunes: https://books.apple.com/us/book/storm-from-the-east/id1461771523

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/storm-from-the-east-1

Google Books: https://books.google.co.uk/books?vid=ISBN9780765396464&redir_esc=y

AUTHOR INFORMATION

JOANNA HATHAWAY was born in Montréal and is an avid storyteller who was inspired to write after reading her great-grandfather’s memoirs of the First World War. A lifelong history buff, she now has shelves filled with biographies and historical accounts, and perhaps one too many books about pilots. She can often be found reading, traveling, or riding horses.

Her debut novel DARK OF THE WEST is the first in a World Wars-infused fantasy series of forbidden love and deadly revenge. STORM FROM THE EAST will hit shelves on February 11, 2020.

AUTHOR LINKS

Website: http://www.joannachathaway.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16071792.Joanna_Hathaway
Twitter: https://twitter.com/hathawayjojo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/spitfirewriter/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.es/pequenotigre/dark-of-the-west/

TOUR SCHEDULE

http://fantasticflyingbookclub.blogspot.com/2019/12/tour-schedule-storm-from-east-glass.html

GIVEAWAY

Prize: Win (1) of (3) copies of STORM FROM THE EAST by Joanna Hathaway (US Only)

Starts: February 5th 2020Ends: February 19th 2020Embed Code: <a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d9681b86459/&#8221; rel=”nofollow” data-raflid=”d9681b86459″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_s6i8pbmf”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s